Happy Book Birthday to Julie Hutchings's THE WIND BETWEEN WORLDS

*peeks in* Is this thing still on? Obviously I’ve been neglecting my blog here TERRIBLY, and for that I apologize. I’ve mostly been focusing on making sure I get my monthly Patreon rewards out to my patrons (which, if you’d like to join their ranks, you can do that here: www.patreon.com/clmccollum), and unfortunately that means some of the content I produce has to be prioritized over there. But! I am working on a backlog of posts as well as collecting some guest posts, so hopefully I’ll be able to update more frequently (even with it being NaNoWriMo in oh… 24 hours LOL – shocking I know).

In any case, I hope you are having a delightful Halloween and plan to cause the perfect amount of costumey mischief tonight. What can I say – Halloween is one of my very favorite holidays, as is the more serious pagan celebration of Samhain – I technically celebrate both, but it almost depends on my mood each year on which I focus on more. Either way though, I love the entire feel of October and this holiday – the bite in the air, the glee in kiddos’ eyes as they contemplate the candy haul in their future, and the sheer fun of dressing up and embracing a new persona even if for just one night.

Each year, I tend to crave books that fit the feel in October, too: tales of ghosts and hauntings, of demonic posessions, of witches and warlocks and spells gone oh so awry. And let me just say, Julie Hutching’s new book baby sounds RIGHT up that Halloween-y alley. I have just started it, but the cover & blurb have me super excited to get going on it!

So without further ado, please take a gander at the gorgeous cover and to wish Julie a happy happy Halloween book birthday!

A deadly concoction for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Maggie Stiefvater, with ingredients of American Horror Story: Coven, and The Craft. Sixteen-year-old Celeste is the Witch of Stars and leader of her coven, the Five Poisons. But Celeste feels her greatest powers are in chewing anxiety pills and stress-eating. Uniting the vicious witches who share nothing but their unique forms of magic and a list of family dysfunctions is fruitless. The Poisons see only weakness in Celeste, for stifling her magic upon her mommy’s request. Using magic drains their mothers, the Elementals, but Celeste is the only one of the Poisons who doesn’t want her mother dead. When a demon breaks through The Chains, the magical veil into the human world, Celeste tries proving herself to her coven by confronting him on her own. Through his eyes she discovers that the Elementals have been feeding the Poisons lies about demons, magic, their heritage, and the coven’s purpose. Worse yet, the abuse, manipulation and oppression Celeste’s coven has suffered at their mothers’ hands was more than tough love; it was to strengthen the girls’ powers for a Halloween harvest, to weave their souls into The Chains that they serve. Celeste will do anything to save the Poisons, from traversing the wicked realm of The Gone, following the demon who's shown her the truth, to waging war upon the Elementals. But to end the grisly cycle the Elementals have created means the Witch of Stars must either show her mother mercy and live in the false world she knows, or sacrifice herself in ways no magic can reverse.

Buy the book on Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076PXGHQT?ref_=pe_2427780_160035660

Also add it on Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36475332-the-wind-between-worlds

About the Author

Julie’s a mythology twisting, pizza hoarding karate kicker who left her ten year panty peddling career to devote all her time to writing. Her debut novel, Running Home, and the sequel, Running Away were published through Books of the Dead Press, but now she’s gone indie, folks. The Wind Between Worlds is her latest book. The Harpy (also reclaimed from traditional publisher) coming in 2018!

Julie revels in all things Buffy, has a sick need for exotic reptiles, and drinks more coffee than Juan Valdez and his donkey combined, if that donkey is allowed to drink coffee. Julie lives in Plymouth, MA, constantly awaiting thunderstorms with her wildly supportive husband, two magnificent boys, several lizards, a couple of tortoises, an axolotl, and one Small Mexican Dog.

How to connect with Julie Hutchings:

Julie on Twitter: @hutchingsjulie

Julie’s Blog: www. JulieHutchings.net

Julie’s Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/DeadlyEverAfterBlog/

Julie on Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7104966.Julie_Hutchings

Julie’s Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00GP8UJWA

Sign up for Julie’s newsletter and never miss a thing! http://twitter.us16.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=0e3e95f6fc3d269bb1b337ee9&id=667cde2561

All content © 2015 by C.L. McCollum unless otherwise noted.

  • Twitter Clean
  • Facebook Clean
  • White SoundCloud Icon